1989 The Special Hospitals Service Authority

The Special Hospitals Service Authority was a special health authority of the National Health Service in England from 1989 to 1996.

It had responsibility for managing the three high security “special” psychiatric hospitals in England: Ashworth, Broadmoor and Rampton.

The Authority was abolished in 1996 when its commissioning functions passed to the High Security Psychiatric Services Commissioning Board, while each of the Hospitals became independently managed as a Special Health Authority in its own right.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *